Concept: Panoramic Designs

Taking inspiration from my watercolour exercises I decided to create some additional panorama designs that would explore the data arena space in an aesthetic that is somewhat more artistic and concurrent with my research so far. In my outcomes I tried to articulate two opposing forms, specifically symbolising the movements of the siphonophores and arthropods which we have been exploring so far.

In the first and second images below, the arthropods are signified through the cellular-like shapes that are at first static but then spread across the area in quick forms, before becoming static again. The siphonophores are symbolised by the wispy, undefined trails that glide airily across the space.

panorama1

panorama2

The last example was less about opposing forms and more about and examination of movement and flow at a molecular level. Chris is often reminding us of the presence of cellular organisms, especially found within estuaries, so I attempted to portray this aquatic environment a little more figuratively. Interestingly, this imagery reminds me of my sensory experience in Dean’s workshop when I was blindfolded and listening to the soundtrack as I felt I was peering into a very deep, dark expanse with strange particles passing by my head.

panorama3

With these images in mind I hope to start some significant experimentation on MotionBuilder now as I feel this could be quite beneficial for the group. I made a secondary Pinterest board in which I have been more selective with imagery and textures that I would like to use in some animation tests. Some imagery that stood out for me includes Greg Papagrigoriou’s calligraphy work ‘Japan mountain’ that uses an amazing contrast between a very opaque and quite scratchy ink line to convey the notion of balance. Also, Lee Ufan’s glue and stone pigment on canvas demonstrates how a sense of movement can be achieved through static shapes, and equally reminds me of soft waves rolling in. More images can be seen at: https://au.pinterest.com/louwolst/data-immersion-concept-inspiration/

Bibliography:

Papagrigoriou, G. 2014, ‘Japan mountain’, calligraphy ink on paper, accessed February 4 2017, <http://gregpapagrigoriou.tumblr.com/post/120216179281/japan-mountain-greg-papagrigoriou-2014 >

Ufan, L. 1976, ‘From Point’, glue and stone pigment on canvas, accessed February 4 2017, <http://www.studioleeufan.org/main/ >

Leave a Reply

