6. Sound & Image

From the beginning of the subject I was interested in adding audio to the immersive animation. I have worked in music production before and I felt I could bring forward some appropriate tracks to fit the characteristics of the animation. Below is a video showing Kryptos (Ozolins, 2011) that was an installation I witnessed at the Museum of Old and New Art, in Hobart. I found this installation amazing and it was in my mind for the asset building stage of this subject. I wanted to draw from the immersive elements of this installation.

20170210_14365620170210_14370120170210_143646

20170210_143622

20170210_143616

Above are my notes and comprehension of how the audio tracks would fit the animation assets. It was a challenging task to sync up the visual and audio elements of the animation but I feel I provided a suitable audio response.

aud_2aud_1

Above are screenshots of the audio tracking I created on Audacity. I used totally open source and freely available sound clips to construct the soundtrack. At times it seemed too difficult and I felt I should have used the tracks provided by Chris, but in retrospect I am happy with the path I chose to take.

 

 

 

Above are further examples of sound and audio works that inspired my choice of sound, and my input in the asset building within the team.

References:

Nico. (1970). All That Is My Own. [Online Video]. 3 February 2011. Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AAQn93RUjVY. [Accessed: 17 January 2017].

Anton Newcombe. (2008). Who Cares Why?. [Online Video]. 18 July 2007. Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K91ls9ZtGiU. [Accessed: 17 January 2017].

Laurie Anderson. (1982). Big Science. [Online Video]. 7 November 2014. Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vTHiN6Qwdgs&list=PLBYTxcsx8bFgEq71RHu-VK_iZ72V6QnFh. [Accessed: 17 January 2017].

Leave a Reply

